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STATE STATUTES PROHNIBITING
SALE OR GIFT OF CIGAKRETTES TO MINORS

The following states clearly prohibit the sale, gift or furnishing
of cigarettes to minors:

Minors under the age of 21 years

Arizona

"A person who sells, gives or furnishes cigars, cigarettes or
cigarette papers, smoking or chewing tobacco, to a minor, and a
minor who buys, or has in his possession or accepts or receives

from any person -~-- cigarcttes ---- is guilty of a misdemeanor."

"'Minor' means a person under the age of 21 years,"”

Florida

"It is a criminal offense for any person to sell —--- or give
away ---- to any minor, any cigarettes ---="

"Minor means anyone under 21 years of age." DBeekman - v -

Beekman 53 Fla., 858, 43 So. 923 (1907)

Attorney General's opinion 063-23 -- "The proprietor of cig-
arette vending machines would be criminally liable if he should
leave the machine unattended so that minors can purchase cigarettes
from the machine., He would also be liable if machines are placed
ir positions that are readily accessible to minors and left unat-
tended."”

Kansas

"It shall be unlawful for any person to sell or give away to
any minor under 21 years of age any cigarette.,"

4No¢e+——Bii&—how—pending-which—would—iower-age—to—&S)—u

Michigan

"Any person ---- who sells, gives to, or in any way furnishes
any cigarettes ---- to any person under -2t years of age shall be
fined or imprisoned." /

North Dakota

"No person ---- shall sell ---- give or furnish to or buy or
procure for, any person woadar—the-age—of—3i-years. any cigarette."
Vb o e vy LG 2021642
(over)
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South Dakota _.,fp77,LJ»é#4(q
"It shall be unlawful for any person ---- to supply to any
person under the age of 21 years any cigarette."
Washington
"Every person who shall sell or give ---- any person under
the age of 21 years any ---- cigarctte or tobacco in any form
shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor." ’
West Virginia — /LPC/J-“""‘{,
. "No person ---- shall sell, give or furnish ---- any person

under the age of 21 years any cigarette."”

(Note: For other tobacco products the age is 16)

Minors under the age of 19

Utah

~ "Any person who sells, gives or furnishes any cigarette or
tobacco in any form, to any person under 19 years of age is guilty
of a misdemeanor."

Minors under the age’of 18

Alaska

“That it shall be unlawful in the Territory'of Alaska for
any person ---- to sell, exchange or give any cigarettes ---- or
tobacco in any form to any person under the age of 18 years.," ‘

Arkansas

"It shall be unlawful for any person ---- to give, barter or

sell to a minor under 18 yecars of age, tobacco in any form, or
cigarette papers."

California

"Every person ---- which sells or gives or in any way fur-
nishes to another person who is in fact uunder the age of 18 years

any tobacco, cigarette ---- is guilty of a misdemeanor --—-"a

Idaho

"Every person who shall give, sell or furnish any cigarettes
--~- or tobacco in any form ----~ to minor persons under 18 years
of age -~-- shall be guilty of a misdemeanor." LG

=y
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Iowa

"No person shall furnish to any minor under 18 years of age
by gift, sale or otherwise, any cipgarettes."”

Kentucky

PR

"Any person who sells —---- or gives away =--- to any person
under the age of 18 any cigarctte —---- shall be fined."

- Massachusetts

~"Whocver sclls or gives a cigarctte to.any person under 18
shall be fined."”

(Note: Sale or gift of other tobacco products the age is 16)

"Any operator of a vending machine for the sale of cigarettes
or tobacco and any owner or tenant of a location where a vending
machine is located who shall pecrmit any person under 18 to use
such machines, shall be fined."

> Minnesota

"Any person who sells, gives to, or in any way furnishes any
cigarettes ---- Or tobacco in any form to any person under 18
years of age, Or to any minor pupil in any school, college, Or
University, shall be fined or imprisoned.”

Mississippi

"If any person shall sell ---- or give any cigarettes ----
to any child under the age of 18 years, unless previously author-
jzed in writing by the parent or guardian of such child, he shall
be guilty of a misdemennor."

Missouri

"Any person who shall ---- sell, give away -—=< to any person
under the age of 18 years, any cigarette ---- shall be guilty of
a misdemeanor."

Montana

"Every person who sells or gives any tobacco ---- cigarettes
to any minor under 18 years of age, 18 guilty of a misdemeanor."

Nebraska

"Whoever shall sell, give or furnish any tobacco in any form
or any cigarettes Lo any minor under 18 years of age shall be fined
or imprisonc .

. N T T
i (SR AN .
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"Minors under the age of 17 years

Delaware
"Whoever ---- sells or gives to or in any way assists any

minor, under the age of 17 years, in obtaining cigarettes ----
shall be fined or imprisoned,"

North Carolina

"If any person sbhall =ell, give ---- cigarettes ---- to any
minor under the age of 17 ycars ---- he shall be guilty of a
misdemeanor.,"

Vermont

"A person who sells or gives away ---- tobacco in any form
to a person under 17 years of age cxcept upon written order or
permission of the minor's parents or guardian shall be fined."

Minors under the age of 16 years

>
Al

Colorado

"It shall be unlawful for any person to give or sell cig-
arettes to any person under the age of 16 years."

Connecticut

"Any person who sells, gives or delivers ‘to any minor under
16 years of age tobacco in any form shall be fined."

District of Columbia

Illinois

"No person ---- shall sell, buy for or furnish any -=-- cig-
arette or tobacco in any of its forms, to any minor under '16- years
of age, unless upon the written order of parent or guardian."

. te
Indiana

"1t shall be unlawful for any person or persons to give ----
or sell ---- to any child or children under 16 years any tobacco."

"It shall be unlawful for any person ---- to sell ---- to any
minor, any cigarcties ---="

LG 2021646
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