Department of the Treasury
Internal Revenue Service

Instructions for Form 706
(Revised August 1993)

United States Estate (and Generation-Skipping

Transfer) Tax Return
For decedents dying after October 8, 1990.
Section references are to the Internal Revenue Code unless otherwise noted.

Paperwork Reduction Act Notice.—We ask for the information on this form to carry out
the Internal Revenue laws of the United States. You are required to give us the
information. We need it to ensure that you are complying with these laws and to allow us
to figure and collect the right amount of tax.
The time needed to complete and file this form and related schedules will vary
depending on individual circumstances. The estimated average times are:
Copying, assembling,

Learning about the law Preparing and sending the form
Form Recordkeeping or the form the form to the IRS
706 2 hr., 11 min. 1 hr., 9 min. 3 hr., 26 min. 49 min.
Sch. A 20 min. 16 min. 10 min. 20 min.
A-1 46 min. 25 min. 59 min. 49 min.
B 20 min. 10 min. 11 min. 20 min.
C 13 min. 2 min. 8 min. 20 min.
D 7 min. 6 min. 8 min. 20 min.
E 40 min. 7 min. 24 min. 20 min.
F 33 min. 6 min. 21 min. 20 min.
G 26 min. 18 min. 11 min. 14 min.
H 26 min. 6 min. 10 min. 14 min.
| 26 min. 25 min. 11 min. 20 min.
J 26 min. 5 min. 16 min. 20 min.
K 26 min. 9 min. 10 min. 20 min.
L 13 min. 5 min. 10 min. 20 min.
M 13 min. 31 min. 24 min. 20 min.
0 20 min. 9 min. 18 min. 17 min.
P 7 min. 14 min. 18 min. 14 min.
Q 7 min. 10 min. 11 min. 14 min.
Q Wksht. 7 min. 10 min. 59 min. 20 min.
R 20 min. 34 min. 1 hr., 1 min. 49 min.
R-1 7 min. 29 min. 24 min. 20 min.
S 26 min. 22 min. 37 min. 25 min.
Contin. 20 min. 3 min. 7 min. 20 min.

If you have comments concerning the accuracy of these time estimates or suggestions
for making this form more simple, we would be happy to hear from you. You can write to
both the Internal Revenue Service, Attention: Reports Clearance Officer, T:FP,
Washington, DC 20224; and the Office of Management and Budget, Paperwork
Reduction Project (1545-0015), Washington, DC 20503. DO NOT send the tax form to
either of these offices. Instead, see Where To File on page 2.

Change To Note

® The Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993 increased the maximum estate tax
rate to 53% for taxable estates in excess of $2.5 million and 55% for taxable estates in
excess of $3 million. This increase is permanent and applies to the estates of decedents
dying after December 31, 1992. Because the February 1993 revision of Form 706 is
based on a maximum estate tax rate of 50%o, it should not be used.

For Decedents Dying Use Revision of

After and Before

_______________________ November, 1981

January 1, 1982

Form 706 Dated

December 31, 1981
October 22, 1986
December 31, 1989
October 8, 1990
October 8, 1990

October 23, 1986
January 1, 1990
October 9, 1990
January 1, 1993

November, 1987
October, 1988
July, 1990
October, 1991
August, 1993

Cat. No. 16779E

General Instructions

Purpose of Form

The executor of a decedent’s estate uses
Form 706 to figure the estate tax imposed
by Chapter 11 of the Internal Revenue
Code. This tax is levied on the entire
taxable estate, not just on the share
received by a particular beneficiary. Form
706 is also used to compute the
generation-skipping transfer (GST) tax
imposed by Chapter 13 on direct skips
(transfers to skip persons of interests in
property included in the decedent’s gross
estate).

Which Estates Must File

Form 706 must be filed by the executor for
the estate of every U.S. citizen or resident

whose gross estate, plus adjusted taxable

gifts and specific exemption, is more than

certain limits.

To determine whether you must file a
return for the estate, add:

1. The adjusted taxable gifts (under
section 2001(b)) made by the decedent
after December 31, 1976;

2. The total specific exemption allowed
under section 2521 (as in effect before its
repeal by the Tax Reform Act of 1976) for
gifts made by the decedent after
September 8, 1976; and

3. The decedent’s gross estate valued
at the date of death.

You must file a return for the estate if
the total of 1, 2, and 3 above is more than
$600,000 for decedents dying after 1986.
For filing requirements for decedents dying
after 1981 and before 1986, see the
November 1987 Revision of Form 706.

Gross Estate

The gross estate includes all property in
which the decedent had an interest
(including real property outside the United
States). It also includes:

® Certain transfers made during the
decedent’s life without an adequate and
full consideration in money or money’s
worth;

® Annuities;
® Joint estates with right of survivorship;
® Tenancies by the entirety;

® |ife insurance proceeds (even though
payable to beneficiaries other than the
estate);

® Property over which the decedent
possessed a general power of
appointment;

® Dower or curtesy (or statutory estate) of
the surviving spouse;

o Community property to the extent of the
decedent’s interest as defined by
applicable law.

For more specific information, see the
instructions for Schedules A through I.



U.S. Citizens or Residents;
Nonresident Noncitizens

File Form 706 for the estates of decedents
who were either U.S. citizens or U.S.
residents at the time of death. File Form
706-NA, United States Estate (and
Generation-Skipping Transfer) Tax Return,
Estate of nonresident not a citizen of the
United States, for the estates of
nonresident alien decedents (decedents
who were neither U.S. citizens nor
residents at the time of death).

Residents of U.S. Possessions

All references to citizens of the United
States are subject to the provisions of
sections 2208 and 2209, relating to
decedents who were U.S. citizens and
residents of a U.S. possession on the date
of death. If such a decedent became a
U.S. citizen only because of his or her
connection with a possession, then the
decedent is considered a nonresident alien
decedent for estate tax purposes, and you
should file Form 706-NA. If such a
decedent became a U.S. citizen wholly
independently of his or her connection with
a possession, then the decedent is
considered a U.S. citizen for estate tax
purposes, and you should file Form 706.

Executor

The term “executor” means the executor,
personal representative, or administrator of
the decedent’s estate. If none of these is
appointed, qualified, and acting in the
United States, every person in actual or
constructive possession of any property of
the decedent is considered an executor
and must file a return.

When To File

You must file Form 706 to report estate
and/or generation-skipping transfer tax
within 9 months after the date of the
decedent’s death unless you receive an
extension of time to file. Use Form 4768,
Application for Extension of Time To File a
Return and/or Pay U.S. Estate (and
Generation-Skipping Transfer) Taxes, to
apply for an extension of time. If you
received an extension, attach a copy of it
to Form 706.

Where To File

Unless the return is hand carried to the
office of the District Director, please mail it
to the Internal Revenue Service Center
indicated below for the state where the
decedent was domiciled at the time of
death. If you are filing a return for the
estate of a nonresident U.S. citizen, malil it
to the Internal Revenue Service Center,
Philadelphia, PA 19255, USA.

Where To File.—

N 4 -
Florid_a, Georgia, South Atlanta, GA 39901
Carolina
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New Jersey, New York
(New York City and
counties of Nassau,
Rockland, Suffolk, and
Westchester)

Holtsville, NY 00501

New York (all other
counties), Connecticut,
Maine, Massachusetts, New
Hampshire, Rhode Island,
Vermont

Andover, MA 05501

llinois, lowa, Minnesota,

Missouri, Wisconsin Kansas City, MO 64999

Delaware, District of
Columbia, Maryland,
Pennsylvania, Virginia

Philadelphia, PA 19255

Indiana, Kentucky,
Michigan, Ohio, West
Virginia

Cincinnati, OH 45999

Kansas, New Mexico,

Oklahoma, Texas Austin, TX 73301

Alaska, Arizona, California
(counties of Alpine, Amador,
Butte, Calaveras, Colusa,
Contra Costa, Del Norte, El
Dorado, Glenn, Humboldt,
Lake, Lassen, Marin,
Mendocino, Modoc, Napa,
Nevada, Placer, Plumas,
Sacramento, San Joaquin,
Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou,
Solano, Sonoma, Sutter,
Tehama, Trinity, Yolo, and
Yuba), Colorado, Idaho,
Montana, Nebraska,
Nevada, North Dakota,
Oregon, South Dakota,
Utah, Washington,
Wyoming

Ogden, UT 84201

California (all other

. . Fresno, CA 93888
counties), Hawaii

Alabama, Arkansas,
Louisiana, Mississippi,
North Carolina, Tennessee

Memphis, TN 37501

Paying the Tax

The estate and GST taxes are due within 9
months after the date of the decedent’s
death unless an extension of time for
payment has been granted, or unless you
have properly elected under section 6166
to pay in installments, or under section
6163 to postpone the part of the tax
attributable to a reversionary or remainder
interest. These elections are made by
checking lines 3 and 4 (respectively) of
Part 3, Elections by the Executor, and
attaching the required statements.

If the tax paid with the return is different
from the balance due as figured on the
return, explain the difference in an
attached statement. If you have made prior
payments to IRS or redeemed certain
marketable United States Treasury bonds
to pay the estate tax (see the last
paragraph of the instructions to Schedule
B), attach a statement to Form 706
including these facts. If an extension of
time to pay has been granted, attach a
copy of the approved Form 4768 to Form
706.

Make the check payable to the Internal
Revenue Service. Please write the
decedent’s name, social security number,
and “Form 706” on the check to assist us
in posting it to the proper account.

Signature and Verification

If there is more than one executor, all
listed executors must verify and sign the
return. All executors are responsible for
the return as filed and are liable for
penalties provided for erroneous or false
returns.

If two or more persons are liable for filing
the return, they should all join together in
filing one complete return. However, if they
are unable to join in making one complete
return, each is required to file a return
disclosing all the information the person
has in the case, including the name of
every person holding an interest in the
property and a full description of the
property. If the appointed, qualified, and
acting executor is unable to make a
complete return, then every person holding
an interest in the property must, on notice
from the IRS, make a return regarding that
interest.

The executor who files the return must,
in every case, sign the declaration on page
1 under penalties of perjury. If the return is
prepared by someone other than the
person who is filing the return, the preparer
must also sign at the bottom of page 1.

Part 1

Line 2

Enter the social security number assigned
specifically to the decedent. You cannot
use the social security number assigned to
the decedent’s spouse. If the decedent did
not have a social security number, the
executor should obtain one for the
decedent by filing Form SS-5 with a local
Social Security Administration office.

Line 6a—Name of Executor

If there is more than one executor, enter
the name of the executor to be contacted
by the IRS. List the other executors’
names, addresses, and SSNs (if applicable)
on an attached sheet.

Line 6b—Executor’s Address

Use Form 8822, Change of Address, to
report a change of the executor’s address.

Line 6c—Executor’s Social
Security Number

Only individual executors should complete
this line. If there is more than one
individual executor, all should list their
social security numbers on an attached
sheet.

Supplemental Documents

You must attach the death certificate to
the return.

If the decedent was a citizen or resident
and died testate, attach a certified copy of
the will to the return. Other supplemental
documents may be required as explained
below. Examples include Forms 712, 709,
709-A, and 706CE, trust and power of
appointment instruments, death certificate,
and state certification of payment of death
taxes. If you do not file these documents



with the return, the processing of the
return will be delayed.

If the decedent was a U.S. citizen but
not a resident of the United States, you
must attach the following documents to
the return: (1) a copy of the inventory of
property and the schedule of liabilities,
claims against the estate, and expenses of
administration filed with the foreign court
of probate jurisdiction, certified by a proper
official of the court; (2) a copy of the return
filed under the foreign inheritance, estate,
legacy, succession tax, or other death tax
act, certified by a proper official of the
foreign tax department, if the estate is
subject to such a foreign tax; and (3) if the
decedent died testate, a certified copy of
the will.

Rounding Off to Whole
Dollars

You may show the money items on the
return and accompanying schedules as
whole-dollar amounts. To do so, drop any
amount less than 50 cents and increase
any amount from 50 cents through 99
cents to the next higher dollar.

Penalties

Section 6651 provides for penalties for
both late filing and for late payment unless
there is reasonable cause for the delay.
The law also provides for penalties for
willful attempts to evade payment of tax.
The late filing penalty will not be imposed if
the taxpayer can show that the failure to
file a timely return is due to reasonable
cause. Executors filing late (after the due
date, including extensions) should attach
an explanation to the return to show
reasonable cause.

Section 6662 provides a penalty for the
underpayment of estate tax of $5,000 or
more when the underpayment is
attributable to valuation understatements.
A valuation understatement occurs when
the value of property reported on Form 706
is 50 percent or less of the actual value of
the property.

These penalties also apply to late filing,
late payment, and underpayment of GST
taxes.

Publication 448

Additional information may be found in
Pub. 448, Federal Estate and Gift Taxes.

Specific Instructions

You must file the first three pages of Form
706 and all required schedules. Schedules
A through | must be filed, as appropriate,
to support the entries in items 1 through 9
of the Recapitulation.

If you enter zero on any item of the
Recapitulation, you need not file the
schedule (except for Schedule F) referred
to on that item.

If you claim any deductions on items 11
through 19 of the Recapitulation, you must
complete and attach the appropriate

Schedule(s) to support the claimed
deductions.

If you claim the credits for foreign death
taxes or tax on prior transfers, you must
complete and attach Schedule P or Q.

Form 706 has 41 numbered pages. The
pages are perforated so that you can
remove them for copying and filing. When
you complete the return, staple all the
required pages together in the proper
order.

Number the items you list on each
schedule, beginning with 1 each time.
Total the items listed on the schedule and
its attachments, Continuation Schedules,
etc. Enter the total of all attachments,
Continuation Schedules, etc., at the
bottom of the printed schedule, but do not
carry the totals forward from one schedule
to the next. Enter the total or totals for
each schedule on the Recapitulation, page
3, Form 706.

Do not complete the “Alternate valuation
date” or “Alternate value” columns of any
schedule unless you elected alternate
valuation on line 1 of Part 3, Elections by
the Executor.

If there is not enough space on a
schedule to list all the items, attach a
Continuation Schedule (or additional
sheets of the same size) to the back of the
schedule. The Continuation Schedule is
located at the end of the Form 706
package. You should photocopy the blank
schedule before completing it if you will
need more than one copy.

Instructions for Part 3.—
Elections by the Executor

Line 1—Alternate Valuation

Unless you elect at the time you file the
return to adopt alternate valuation as
authorized by section 2032, you must
value all property included in the gross
estate on the date of the decedent’s
death. Alternate valuation cannot be
applied to only a part of the property. You
may elect special use valuation (line 2) in
addition to alternate valuation.

You may not elect alternate valuation
unless the election will decrease both the
value of the gross estate and the total net
estate and GST taxes due after application
of all allowable credits.

Alternate valuation is elected by
checking “Yes” on line 1 and filing Form
706. Once made, the election may not be
revoked. The election may be made on a
late filed Form 706 provided it is not filed
later than 1 year after the due date
(including extensions).

If you elect alternate valuation, value the
property that is included in the gross
estate as of the applicable dates as
follows:

1. Any property distributed, sold,
exchanged, or otherwise disposed of or
separated or passed from the gross estate
by any method within 6 months after the
decedent’s death is valued on the date of
distribution, sale, exchange, or other
disposition, whichever occurs first. Value

this property on the date it ceases to form
a part of the gross estate, that is, on the
date the title passes as the result of its
sale, exchange, or other disposition.

2. Any property not distributed, sold,
exchanged, or otherwise disposed of
within the 6-month period is valued on the
date 6 months after the date of the
decedent’s death.

3. Any property, interest, or estate that is
“affected by mere lapse of time” is valued
as of the date of decedent’s death or on
the date of its distribution, sale, exchange,
or other disposition, whichever occurs first.
However, you may change the date of
death value to account for any change in
value that is not due to a “mere lapse of
time” on the date of its distribution, sale,
exchange, or other disposition.

The property included in the alternate
valuation and valued as of 6 months after
the date of the decedent’s death, or as of
some intermediate date (as described
above) is the property included in the
gross estate on the date of the decedent’s
death. Therefore, you must first determine
what property constituted the gross estate
at the decedent’s death.

Interest accrued to the date of the
decedent’s death on bonds, notes, and
other interest-bearing obligations is
property of the gross estate on the date of
death and is included in the alternate
valuation. Rent accrued to the date of the
decedent’s death on leased real or
personal property is property of the gross
estate on the date of death and is included
in the alternate valuation.

Outstanding dividends that were
declared to stockholders of record on or
before the date of the decedent’s death
are considered property of the gross estate
on the date of death, and are included in
the alternate valuation. Ordinary dividends
declared to stockholders of record after
the date of the decedent’s death are not
property of the gross estate on the date of
death and are not included in the alternate
valuation. However, if dividends are
declared to stockholders of record after
the date of the decedent’s death so that
the shares of stock at the later valuation
date do not reasonably represent the same
property at the date of the decedent’s
death, include those dividends (except
dividends paid from earnings of the
corporation after the date of the
decedent’s death) in the alternate
valuation.

As part of each Schedule A through I,
you must show: (1) what property is
included in the gross estate on the date of
the decedent’s death; (2) what property
was distributed, sold, exchanged, or
otherwise disposed of within the 6-month
period after the decedent’s death, and the
dates of these distributions, etc. These two
items should be entered in the
“Description” column of each schedule.
Briefly explain the status or disposition
governing the alternate valuation date,
such as: “Not disposed of within 6 months
following death,” “Distributed,” “Sold,”
“Bond paid on maturity,” etc. In this same
column, describe each item of principal
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and includible income; (3) the date of
death value, entered in the appropriate
value column with items of principal and
includible income shown separately;

and (4) the alternate value, entered in the
appropriate value column with items of
principal and includible income shown
separately. In the case of any interest or
estate, the value of which is affected by
lapse of time, such as patents, leaseholds,
estates for the life of another, or remainder
interests, the value shown under the
heading “Alternate value” must be the
adjusted value (i.e., the value as of the
date of death with an adjustment reflecting
any difference in its value as of the later
date not due to lapse of time).

Distributions, sales, exchanges, and
other dispositions of the property within
the 6-month period after the decedent’s
death must be supported by evidence. If
the court issued an order of distribution
during that period, you must submit a
certified copy of the order as part of the
evidence. The District Director may require
you to submit additional evidence if
necessary.

Line 2—Special Use Valuation of
Section 2032A

Under section 2032A, you may elect to
value certain farm and closely held
business real property at its farm or
business use value rather than its fair
market value. You may elect both special
use valuation and alternate valuation. To
elect this valuation you must check “Yes”
to line 2 and complete and attach
Schedule A-1 and its required additional
statements. You must file Schedule A-1
and its required attachments with Form
706 for this election to be valid. You may
make the election on a late filed return so
long as it is the first return filed.

The total value of the property valued
under section 2032A may not be
decreased from fair market value by more
than $750,000.

Real property may qualify for the section
2032A election if:

1. The decedent was a U.S. citizen or
resident at the time of death;

2. The real property is located in the
United States;

3. At the decedent’s death the real
property was used by the decedent or a
family member for farming or in a trade or
business or is rented for such use by the
surviving spouse to a family member on a
net cash basis;

4. The real property was acquired from
or passed from the decedent to a qualified
heir of the decedent;

5. The real property was owned and
used in a qualified manner by the
decedent or a member of the decedent’s
family during 5 of the 8 years before the
decedent’s death;

6. There was material participation by
the decedent or a member of the
decedent’s family during 5 of the 8 years
before the decedent’s death; and

Page 4

7. The qualified property is the
percentage of the decedent’s gross estate
specified in section 2032A.

For definitions and additional
information, see section 2032A and the
related regulations.

Include the words “section 2032A
valuation” in the “Description” column of
any Form 706 schedule if section 2032A
property is included in the decedent’s
gross estate.

An election under section 2032A need
not include all the property in an estate
that is eligible for special use valuation, but
sufficient property to satisfy the threshold
requirements of section 2032A(b)(1)(B)
must be specially valued under the
election.

If joint or undivided interests (e.g.,
interests as joint tenants or tenants in
common) in the same property are
received from a decedent by qualified
heirs, an election with respect to one heir’s
joint or undivided interest need not include
any other heir’s interest in the same
property if the electing heir’s interest plus
other property to be specially valued
satisfies the requirements of section
2032A(b)(1)(B).

If successive interests (e.g., life estates
and remainder interests) are created by a
decedent in otherwise qualified property,
an election under section 2032A is
available only with respect to that property
(or part) in which qualified heirs of the
decedent receive all of the successive
interests, and such an election must
include the interests of all of those heirs.

For example, if a surviving spouse
receives a life estate in otherwise qualified
property and the spouse’s brother receives
a remainder interest in fee, no part of the
property may be valued pursuant to an
election under section 2032A.

Where successive interests in specially
valued property are created, remainder
interests are treated as being received by
qualified heirs only if the remainder
interests are not contingent on surviving a
nonfamily member or are not subject to
divestment in favor of a nonfamily member.

Protective Election.—You may make a
protective election to specially value
qualified real property. Under this election,
whether or not you may ultimately use
special use valuation depends upon values
as finally determined (or agreed to
following examination of the return)
meeting the requirements of section
2032A.

To make a protective election, check
“Yes” to line 2 and complete Schedule A-1
according to its instructions for “Protective
Election.”

If you make a protective election, you
should complete this Form 706 by valuing
all property at its fair market value. Do not
use special use valuation. Usually, this will
result in higher estate and GST tax
liabilities than will be ultimately determined
if special use valuation is allowed. The
protective election does not extend the
time to pay the taxes shown on the
return. If you wish to extend the time to

pay the taxes, you should file Form 4768 in
adequate time before the return due date.

If it is found that the estate qualifies for
special use valuation based on the values
as finally determined (or agreed to
following examination of the return), you
must file an amended Form 706 (with a
complete section 2032A election) within 60
days after the date of this determination.
Complete the amended return using
special use values under the rules of
section 2032A, and complete Schedule
A-1 and attach all of the required
statements.

Line 3—Installment Payments

If you check this line to make a protective
election, you should attach a notice of
protective election as described in
Regulations section 20.6166-1(d). If you
check this line to make a final election, you
should attach the notice of election
described in Regulations section
20.6166-1(b).

In computing the adjusted gross estate
under section 6166(b)(6) to determine
whether an election may be made under
section 6166, the net amount of any real
estate in a closely held business must be
used.

You may also elect to pay GST taxes in
installments. See section 6166(i).

Line 4—Reversionary or
Remainder Interests

For the details of this election, see section
6163 and the related regulations.

Instructions for Part 4.—
General Information (pages
2 and 3)

Power of Attorney

Completing the authorization on page 2 of
Form 706 will authorize one attorney,
accountant, or enrolled agent to represent
the estate and receive confidential tax
information, but will not authorize the
representative to enter into closing
agreements for the estate. If you wish to
represent the estate, you must complete
and sign the authorization.

If you wish to authorize persons other
than attorneys, accountants, and enrolled
agents, or if you wish to authorize more
than one person, to receive confidential
information or represent the estate, you
must complete and attach Form 2848,
Power of Attorney and Declaration of
Representative.

You must also complete and attach
Form 2848 if you wish to authorize
someone to enter into closing agreements
for the estate.

If you wish only to authorize someone to
inspect and/or receive confidential tax
information (but not to represent you
before the IRS), you must complete and
file Form 8821, Tax Information
Authorization.



Line 4

Complete line 4 whether or not there is a
surviving spouse and whether or not the
surviving spouse received any benefits
from the estate. If there was no surviving
spouse on the date of decedent’s death,
enter “None” in line 4a and leave lines 4b
and 4c blank. The value entered in line 4c
need not be exact. See the instructions for
“Amount,” under line 5, below.

Line 5

Name.—Enter the name of each individual,
trust, or estate who received (or will
receive) benefits of $5,000 or more from
the estate directly as an heir, next-of-kin,
devisee, or legatee; or indirectly (for
example, as beneficiary of an annuity or
insurance policy, shareholder of a
corporation, or partner of a partnership
that is an heir, etc.).

Identifying Number.—Enter the social
security number of each individual
beneficiary listed. If the number is
unknown, or the individual has no number,
please indicate “unknown” or “none.” For
trusts and other estates, enter the
employer identification number.

Relationship.—For each individual
beneficiary enter the relationship (if known)
to the decedent by reason of blood,
marriage, or adoption. For trust or estate
beneficiaries, indicate TRUST or ESTATE.

Amount.—Enter the amount actually
distributed (or to be distributed) to each
beneficiary including transfers during the
decedent’s life from Schedule G required
to be included in the gross estate. The
value to be entered need not be exact. A
reasonable estimate is sufficient. For
example, where precise values cannot
readily be determined, as with certain
future interests, a reasonable
approximation should be entered. The total
of these distributions should approximate
the amount of gross estate reduced by
funeral and administrative expenses, debts
and mortgages, bequests to surviving
spouse, charitable bequests, and any
Federal and state estate and GST taxes
paid (or payable) relating to the benefits
received by the beneficiaries listed on lines
4 and 5.

All distributions of less than $5,000 to
specific beneficiaries may be included with
distributions to unascertainable
beneficiaries on the line provided.

Line 6—Section 2044 Property

If you answered “Yes,” these assets must
be shown on Schedule F.

Section 2044 property is property for
which a previous section 2056(b)(7)
election (QTIP election) has been made, or
for which a similar gift tax election (section
2523) has been made. For more details
see Pub. 448.

Line 8—Insurance Not Included in
the Gross Estate
If you checked “Yes” for either 8a or 8b,

you must complete and attach Schedule D
and attach a Form 712, Life Insurance

Statement, for each policy and an
explanation of why the policy or its
proceeds are not includible in the gross
estate.

Line 10—Partnership Interests and
Stock in Close Corporations

If you answered “Yes” to line 10, you must
include full details for partnerships and
unincorporated businesses on Schedule F
(Schedule E if the partnership interest is
jointly owned). You must include full details
for the stock of inactive or close
corporations on Schedule B.

Value these interests using the rules of
Regulations section 20.2031-2 (stocks) or
20.2031-3 (other business interests).

A “close corporation” is a corporation
whose shares are owned by a limited
number of shareholders. Often, one family
holds the entire stock issue. As a result,
little, if any, trading of the stock takes
place. There is, therefore, no established
market for the stock, and those sales that
do occur are at irregular intervals and
seldom reflect all the elements of a
representative transaction as defined by
the term “fair market value.”

Line 12—Trusts

If you answered “Yes” to either 12a or
12b, you must attach a copy of the trust
instrument for each trust.

You must complete Schedule G if you
answered “Yes” to 12a and Schedule F if
you answered “Yes” to 12b.

Line 14—Transitional Marital
Deduction Computation

You must check “Yes” if property passes
to the surviving spouse under a maximum
marital deduction formula provision that
meets the requirements of section 403(e)(3)
of the Economic Recovery Tax Act of 1981
(P. L. 97-34; 95 Stat. 305).

If you check “Yes” to line 14, you must
compute the marital deduction under the
rules that were in effect before the
Economic Recovery Tax Act of 1981.

For a format for this computation, you
should obtain the November 1981 revision
of Form 706 and its instructions. The
computation is items 19 through 26 of the
Recapitulation. You should also apply the
rules of Rev. Rul. 80-148, 1980-1 C.B. 207,
if there is property that passes to the
surviving spouse outside of the maximum
marital deduction formula provision.

Line 16—Excess Retirement
Accumulation

If the decedent did not have any interest in
a qualified employer plan or individual
retirement plan (defined in section
7701(a)(37)), check “No” to this question.

Note: The tax on excess retirement
accumulations will not apply to most
decedents because the present value of
the hypothetical annuity is usually so large
that very few decedents will have a larger
total interest in qualified plans and
individual retirement plans. The rules below
are a general description of the section

4980A(d) excess retirement accumulation.
If it appears, after reading these rules, that
there is the possibility of such an excess,
see the instructions for Schedule S on
page 20 for more information.

A “qualified plan” means any:

1. Qualified pension, profit-sharing, or
stock bonus plan described in section
401(a) that includes a trust exempt from
tax under section 501(a);

2. Annuity plan described in section
403(a);

3. Annuity contract, custodial account,
or retirement income account described in
section 403(b)(1), 403(b)(7), or 403(b)(9);

4. Qualified bond purchase plan
described in section 405(a) prior to that
section’s repeal by section 491(a) of the
Tax Reform Act of 1984.

To determine if the decedent had an
excess retirement accumulation, you must
first total all of the decedent’s interests (as
of the date of death) in qualified plans and
individual retirement plans. Then determine
the present (date of death or alternate
valuation date) value of a hypothetical life
annuity for the decedent. This hypothetical
life annuity must pay the decedent the
greater of $150,000 (unindexed) or
$112,500 (indexed) per year, times the
multiplier described in the instructions for
line 3, Part Ill, of Schedule S. Those
instructions are on page 21.

If the decedent’s total interest in the
plans is greater than the value of this
hypothetical annuity, then there is an
excess retirement accumulation, and you
should check “Yes” to question 16 and
attach Schedule S to your return.

Instructions for Part 5.—
Recapitulation (Page 3 of
Form 706)

Gross Estate

Items 1 through 9.—You must make an
entry in each of items 1 through 9. If the
gross estate does not contain any assets
of the type specified by a given item, enter
zero for that item. Entering zero for any of
items 1 through 9 is a statement by the
executor, made under penalties of perjury,
that the gross estate does not contain any
includible assets covered by that item. Do
not enter any amounts in the “Alternate
value” column unless you elected alternate
valuation on line 1 of Elections by the
Executor on page 2.

Which Schedules To Attach for Items 1
Through 9.—You must attach Schedule F
to the return and answer its questions
even if you report no assets on it.

You must attach Schedules A, B, and C
if the gross estate includes any Real
Estate; Stocks and Bonds; or Mortgages,
Notes, and Cash, respectively. You must
attach Schedule D if the gross estate
includes any Life Insurance or if you
answered “Yes” to question 8a. You must
attach Schedule E if the gross estate
contains any Jointly Owned Property or if
you answered “Yes” to question 9. You
must attach Schedule G if the decedent
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made any of the lifetime transfers to be
listed on that schedule or if you answered
“Yes” to question 11 or 12a. You must
attach Schedule H if you answered “Yes”
to question 13. You must attach Schedule
| if you answered “Yes” to question 15.

Deductions

Items 11 Through 19.—You must attach
the appropriate schedules for the
deductions you claim.

Item 15.—If item 14 is less than or equal
to the value (at the time of the decedent’s
death) of the property subject to claims,
enter the amount from item 14 on item 15.

If the amount on item 14 is more than
the value of the property subject to claims,
enter the greater of (a) the value of the
property subject to claims, or (b) the
amount actually paid at the time the return
is filed.

In no event should you enter more on
item 15 than the amount on item 14. See
section 2053 and the related regulations
for more information.

Instructions for Part 2.—Tax
Computation (Page 1 of
Form 706)

In general, the estate tax is figured by
applying the unified rates shown in Table A
to the total of transfers both during life and
at death, and then subtracting the gift
taxes. You must complete the Tax
Computation.

Line 1

If you elected alternate valuation on line 1,
Part 3, Elections by the Executor, enter
the amount you entered in the “Alternate
value” column of item 10 of Part 5,
Recapitulation. Otherwise, enter the
amount from the “Value at date of death”
column.

Lines 4 and 9

Three worksheets are provided to help you
compute the entries for these lines. You
need not file these worksheets with your
return but should keep them for your
records. Worksheet TG allows you to
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reconcile the decedent’s lifetime taxable
gifts to compute totals that will be used for
the line 4 and line 9 worksheets. You must
get all of the decedent’s gift tax returns
(Form 709, United States Gift (and
Generation-Skipping Transfer) Tax Return)
before you complete Worksheet TG. The
amounts you will enter on Worksheet TG
can usually be derived from these returns
as filed. However, if any of the returns
were audited by the IRS, you should use
the amounts that were finally determined
as a result of the audits.

Special Treatment of Split Gifts.—These
special rules apply only if:

1. The decedent’s spouse predeceased
the decedent;

2. The decedent’s spouse made gifts
that were “split” with the decedent under
the rules of section 2513;

3. The decedent was the “consenting
spouse” for those split gifts, as that term is
used on Form 709; and

4. The split gifts were included in the
decedent’s spouse’s gross estate under
section 2035.

If all four conditions above are met, do
not include these gifts on line 4 of the Tax
Computation and do not include the gift
taxes payable on these gifts on line 9 of
the Tax Computation. These adjustments
are incorporated into the worksheets.

Line 7

Lines 7a—c are used to calculate the
phaseout of the unified credit and
graduated rates. The phaseout applies only
to estates in which the amount the
tentative tax is computed on exceeds $10
million.

Line 12

If the decedent made gifts (including gifts
made by the decedent’s spouse and
treated as made by the decedent by
reason of gift splitting) after September 8,
1976, and before January 1, 1977, for
which the decedent claimed a specific
exemption, the unified credit on this estate
tax return must be reduced. The reduction
is figured by entering 20% of the specific
exemption claimed for these gifts. (Note:

The specific exemption was allowed by
section 2521 for gifts made before January
1, 1977.)

If the decedent did not make any gifts
between September 8, 1976, and January
1, 1977, or if the decedent made gifts
during that period but did not claim the
specific exemption, enter zero.

Line 15

You may take a credit on line 15 for estate,
inheritance, legacy, or succession taxes
paid as the result of the decedent’s death
to any state or the District of Columbia.
However, see section 2053(d) and the
related regulations for exceptions and
limits if you elected to deduct the taxes
from the value of the gross estate.

If you make a section 6166 election to
pay the Federal estate tax in installments
and make a similar election to pay the
state death tax in installments, see Rev.
Rul. 86-38, 1986-1 C.B. 296, for the
method of computing the credit allowed
with this Form 706.

The credit may not be more than the
amount figured by using Table B on page
9, based on the value of the adjusted
taxable estate. The adjusted taxable estate
is the amount of the Federal taxable estate
(line 3 of the Tax Computation) reduced by
$60,000. You may claim an anticipated
amount of credit and figure the Federal
estate tax on the return before the state
death taxes have been paid. However, the
credit cannot be finally allowed unless you
pay the state death taxes and claim the
credit within 4 years after the return is filed
(or later as provided by the Code if a
petition is filed with the Tax Court of the
United States, or if you have an extension
of time to pay) and submit evidence that
the tax has been paid. If you claim the
credit for any state death tax that is later
recovered, see Regulations section
20.2016-1 for the notice you are required
to give the IRS within 30 days.

If you transfer property other than cash
to the state in payment of state inheritance
taxes, the amount you may claim as credit
is the lesser of the state inheritance tax
liability discharged or the fair market value
of the property on the date of the transfer.



Worksheet TG Taxable Gifts Reconciliation

To be used for lines 4 and 9 of the Tax Computation

< a Total b.bl it Note: For the definition of a taxable gift see section 2503. Ignore the old specific
o~ Calendar year or otal taxable gifts exemption. Follow Form 709. That is, include only the decedent’s one-half of split
S5 lendar quart reported on Form 709 for | gits, whether the gift de by the decedent or the decedent’
59 calendar quarter period (see Note) gifts, whether the gifts were made by the decedent or the decedent’s spouse.
52
£L
© 8 c. d. e. f.
Q
8 o Taxable amount
£ ] lTalxadblz _amm:ng included in col. b for Gift tax paid by Gift tax paid by
ool Included In col. gifts that qualify for decedent on gifts | decedent’s spouse on
E® for gifts included “special treatment of in col. d gifts in col. ¢
o3 Total taxable gifts in the gross estate split gifts” described

made before 1977 above
Q
B
ES
£8
O w®

2. Totals for gifts made after 1976

Line 4 Worksheet

Adjusted Taxable Gifts Made After 1976

1. Taxable gifts made after 1976. Enter the amount from line 2, column b, Worksheet TG

2. Taxable gifts made after 1976 reportable on Schedule G. Enter the amount from line 2,
column ¢, Worksheet TG

3. Taxable gifts made after 1976 that qualify for “special treatment.” Enter the amount

from line 2, column d, Worksheet TG
4. Add lines 2 and 3.

5. Adjusted taxable gifts.. Su.btr:act.lin.e 4. frc;m iiné 1..En.ter.he§e a.lnd. on. Iin'e 4 of. thé Téx .Cor"npl'Jtat'ion. of. Fo'rm

706
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Line 9 Worksheet

Gift Tax on Gifts Made After 1976

a. b.
Calendar year Total taxable gifts for prior
or calendar periods (from Form 709,
quarter Tax Computation, line 2)

Total pre-1977
taxable gifts. Enter
the amount from line
1, Worksheet TG

Taxable gifts for this
period (from Form 709,
Tax Computation, line 1)

C. d.

Tax payable using Table
A (on page 9)

Unused unified credit for

e. f.

Tax payable for this
period (subtract col.

this period (see below) e from col. d)

Total gift taxes payable on gifts made after 1976 (combine the amounts in column f)
Gift taxes paid by the decedent on gifts that qualify for “special treatment.” Enter the amount from

line 2, column e, Worksheet TG on page 7

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1 .

4. Gift tax paid by decedent’s spouse on spllt glfts |ncluded on Schedule G Enter the amount from Ilne

2, column f, Worksheet TG on page 7 .

5. Add lines 3 and 4. Enter here and on line 9 of the Tax Computatlon of Form 706

Column d: To figure the “tax payable” for this column, you must use Table A in these instructions, as it applies to the year of the decedent’s death rather than to the
year the gifts were actually made. To compute the entry for col. d, you should figure the “tax payable” on the amount in col. b and subtract it from the “tax payable”
on the amounts in cols. b and ¢ added together. Enter the difference in col. d.
If the amount in columns b and ¢ combined exceeds $10 million for any given calendar year, then you must calculate the tax in column d for that year using the
Form 709 revision in effect for the year of the decedent’s death.
To calculate the tax, enter the amount for the appropriate year from column c of the worksheet on line 1 of the Tax Computation of the Form 709. Enter the
amount from column b on line 2 of the Tax Computation. Complete the Tax Computation through the tax due before any reduction for the unified credit and enter

that amount in column d, above.

Column e: To figure the unused unified credit, use the unified credit in effect for the year the gift was made. This amount should be on line 12 of the Tax

Computation of the Form 709 filed for the gift.

For more details, see Rev. Rul. 86-117,
1986-2 C.B. 157.

You should send the following evidence
to the IRS:

1. Certificate of the proper officer of the
taxing state, or the District of Columbia,
showing: (a) the total amount of tax
imposed (before adding interest and
penalties and before allowing discount); (b)
the amount of discount allowed; (c) the
amount of penalties and interest imposed
or charged; (d) the total amount actually
paid in cash; and (e) the date of payment.

2. Any additional proof the IRS
specifically requests.

You should file the evidence requested
above with the return if possible.
Otherwise, send it as soon after you file
the return as possible.

Line 17

You may take a credit for Federal gift taxes
imposed by Chapter 12 of the Code, and
the corresponding provisions of prior laws,
on certain transfers the decedent made
before January 1, 1977, that are included
in the gross estate. The credit cannot be
more than the amount figured by the
following formula:

Gross estate tax minus (the

sum of the state death taxes

and unified credit) Value of

included gift

Value of gross estate minus
(the sum of the deductions for
charitable, public, and similar
gifts and bequests and marital
deduction)

Page 8

For more information, see the regulations
under section 2012. This computation may
be made using Form 4808, Computation
of Credit for Gift Tax. Attach a copy of a
completed Form 4808 or the computation
of the credit. Also attach all available
copies of Forms 709 filed by the decedent
to help verify the amounts entered on lines
4,9, and 17.

Line 23

If you answered “Yes” to question 16 of
General Information, you must complete
Schedule S. Enter the tax due from line 17
of Schedule S on line 23. This increased
estate tax may not be offset by any of the
estate tax credits on lines 11-19.

Line 26

You may not use these bonds to pay the
GST tax. You may use these bonds to pay
the increased estate tax shown on line 23.

Instructions for Schedule
A.—Real Estate

See the reverse side of Schedule A on
Form 706.

Instructions for Schedule
B.—Stocks and Bonds

General

If the total gross estate contains any
stocks or bonds, you must complete
Schedule B and file it with the return.

On Schedule B list the stocks and bonds
included in the decedent’s gross estate.
Number each item in the left-hand column.
Bonds that are exempt from Federal
income taxes are not exempt from
estate taxes unless specifically
exempted by an estate tax provision of
the Code. Therefore, you should list these
bonds on Schedule B.

Public housing bonds includible in the
gross estate must be included at their full
value.

If you paid any estate, inheritance,
legacy, or succession tax to a foreign
country on any stocks or bonds included

(continued on page 10)



Table A—Unified Rate Schedule

Table B

Worksheet

Column A Column B Column C Column D
Rate of tax on
Taxable Taxable Tax on excess over

amount amount amount in amount in

over not over column A column A

(Percent)
0 $10,000 0 18
$10,000 20,000 $1,800 20
20,000 40,000 3,800 22
40,000 60,000 8,200 24
60,000 80,000 13,000 26
80,000 100,000 18,200 28
100,000 150,000 23,800 30
150,000 250,000 38,800 32
250,000 500,000 70,800 34
500,000 750,000 155,800 37
750,000 1,000,000 248,300 39
1,000,000 1,250,000 345,800 41
1,250,000 1,500,000 448,300 43
1,500,000 2,000,000 555,800 45
2,000,000 2,500,000 780,800 49
2,500,000 3,000,000 1,025,800 53
3,000,000 | ___._...... 1,290,800 55

Federal Adjusted Taxable Estate

Form 706,

line 3)

2 Adjustment

3 Federal adjusted taxable estate. Subtract line 2
from line 1. Use this amount to compute
maximum credit for state death taxes in Table B.

1 Federal taxable estate (from Tax Computation,

60,000

Table B

Computation of Maximum Credit for State Death Taxes
(Based on Federal adjusted taxable estate computed using the worksheet above.)

@ @) @) 4 @ (@) (©) 4)
Adjusted taxable | Adjusted taxable | Credit on amount Rate of credit on Adjusted taxable | Adjusted taxable | Credit on amount | Rate of credit on
estate equal to or | estate less than— in column (1) excess over amount | estate equal to or | estate less than— in column (1) [excess over amount

more than— in column (1) more than— in column (1)
(Percent) (Percent)
0 $40,000 0 None 2,040,000 2,540,000 106,800 8.0
$40,000 90,000 0 0.8 2,540,000 3,040,000 146,800 8.8
90,000 140,000 $400 1.6 3,040,000 3,540,000 190,800 9.6
140,000 240,000 1,200 2.4 3,540,000 4,040,000 238,800 10.4
240,000 440,000 3,600 3.2 4,040,000 5,040,000 290,800 11.2
440,000 640,000 10,000 4.0 5,040,000 6,040,000 402,800 12.0
640,000 840,000 18,000 4.8 6,040,000 7,040,000 522,800 12.8
840,000 1,040,000 27,600 5.6 7,040,000 8,040,000 650,800 13.6
1,040,000 1,540,000 38,800 6.4 8,040,000 9,040,000 786,800 14.4
1,540,000 2,040,000 70,800 7.2 9,040,000 10,040,000 930,800 15.2
10,040,000 |  oooo.-. 1,082,800 16.0
Examples showing use of Schedule B
Example where the alternate valuation is not adopted; date of death, January 1, 1993
S ’ Alternate
Item Description including face amount of bonds or number of shares and par value where Unit value valuation Alternate Value at date
number needed for identification. Give CUSIP number if available. date value of death
1 $60,000-Arkansas Railroad Co. first mortgage 4%, 20-year bonds,
due 1995. Interest payable quarterly on Feb. 1, May 1, Aug. 1 and
Nov. 1; N.Y. Exchange, CUSIP No. XXXXXXXXX . 100 | oo 60,000
Interest coupons attached to bonds, item 1, due and payable on Nov.
1, 1992, but not cashed at date of death R (O I B 600
Interest accrued on item 1, from Nov. 1, 1992, to Jan. l 1993 ______________________________________ 400
2 500 shares Public Service Corp., common; N.Y. Exchange, CUSIP No.
XXXXXXXXX . 110 | | 55,000
Dividend on item 2 of $2 per share declared Dec 10 1992 payable
on Jan. 10, 1993, to holders of record on Dec. 30, 1992 . . . . |ocooooociooi|ciiiiiciiin |aiiiiiiiil 1,000
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Example where the alternate valuation is adopted; date of death, January 1, 1993

Alternate

Item Description including face amount of bonds or number of shares and par value where Unit value valuation Alternate Value at date
number needed for identification. Give CUSIP number if available. date value of death
1 $60,000-Arkansas Railroad Co. first mortgage 4%, 20-year bonds,
due 1995. Interest payable quarterly on Feb. 1, May 1, Aug 1 and
Nov. 1; N.Y. Exchange, CUSIP No. XXXXXXXXX . . - 100 | | 60,000
$30,000 of item 1 distributed to legatees on Apr. 1, 1993 99 4/1/93 29,700 | .._........_.
$30,000 of item 1 sold by executor on May 2, 1993 98 5/2/93 29,400 | ...
Interest coupons attached to bonds, item 1, due and payable on
Nov. 1, 1992, but not cashed at date of death. Cashed by executor
on Feb. 1, 1993 ) I 2/1/93 600 600
Interest accrued on item 1, from Nov. 1, 1992, to Jan. 1, 1993. Cashed
by executor on Feb. 1,1993 . . . . . . . . . . . . .| 2/1/93 400 400
2 500 shares of Public Service Corp., common; N.Y. Exchange CusIP
NO. XXXXXXXXX . e 110 | | 55,000
Not disposed of within 6 months followmg death 90 7/1/93 45,000 | ...
Dividend on item 2 of $2 per share declared Dec. 10, 1992, and pald
on Jan. 10, 1993, to holders of record on Dec. 30, 1992 ., . . . | ... ...... 1/10/93 1,000 1,000

(Continued from page 8)

in this schedule, group those stocks and
bonds together and label them “Subjected
to Foreign Death Taxes.”

List interest and dividends on each stock
or bond separately. Indicate as a separate
item dividends that have not been
collected at death, but which are payable
to the decedent or the estate because the
decedent was a stockholder of record on
the date of death. However, if the stock is
being traded on an exchange and is selling
ex-dividend on the date of the decedent’s
death, do not include the amount of the
dividend as a separate item. Instead, add it
to the ex-dividend quotation in determining
the fair market value of the stock on the
date of the decedent’s death. Dividends
declared on shares of stock before the
death of the decedent but payable to
stockholders of record on a date after the
decedent’s death are not includible in the
gross estate for Federal estate tax
purposes.

Description

For stocks indicate:

Number of shares

Whether common or preferred

Issue

Par value where needed for identification
Price per share

Exact name of corporation

® Principal exchange upon which sold, if
listed on an exchange

® CUSIP number, if available
For bonds indicate:

Quantity and denomination
Name of obligor

Date of maturity

Interest rate

Interest due date

Principal exchange, if listed on an
exchange

® CUSIP number, if available

Page 10

If the stock or bond is unlisted, show the
company’s principal business office.

The CUSIP (Committee on Uniform
Security Identification Procedure) number
is a nine-digit number that is assigned to
all stocks and bonds traded on major
exchanges and many unlisted securities.
Usually, the CUSIP number is printed on
the face of the stock certificate. If the
CUSIP number is not printed on the
certificate, it may be obtained through the
company’s transfer agent.

Valuation

List the fair market value of the stocks or
bonds. The fair market value of a stock or
bond (whether listed or unlisted) is the
mean between the highest and lowest
selling prices quoted on the valuation date.
If only the closing selling prices are
available, then the fair market value is the
mean between the quoted closing selling
price on the valuation date and on the
trading day before the valuation date. To
figure the fair market value if there were no
sales on the valuation date:

1. Find the mean between the highest
and lowest selling prices on the nearest
trading date before and the nearest trading
date after the valuation date. Both trading
dates must be reasonably close to the
valuation date.

2. Prorate the difference between the
mean prices to the valuation date.

3. Add or subtract (whichever applies)
the prorated part of the difference to or
from the mean price figured for the nearest
trading date before the valuation date.

If no actual sales were made reasonably
close to the valuation date, make the same
computation using the mean between the
bona fide bid and asked prices instead of
sales prices. If actual sales prices or bona
fide bid and asked prices are available
within a reasonable period of time before
the valuation date but not after the
valuation date, or vice versa, use the mean
between the highest and lowest sales

prices or bid and asked prices as the fair
market value.

For example, assume that sales of stock
nearest the valuation date (June 15)
occurred 2 trading days before (June 13)
and 3 trading days after (June 18). On
those days the mean sale prices per share
were $10 and $15, respectively. Therefore,
the price of $12 is considered the fair
market value of a share of stock on the
valuation date. If, however, on June 13 and
18, the mean sale prices per share were
$15 and $10, respectively, the fair market
value of a share of stock on the valuation
date is $13.

If only closing prices for bonds are
available, see Regulations section
20.2031-2(b).

Apply the rules in the section 2031
regulations to determine the value of
inactive stock and stock in close
corporations. Send with the schedule
complete financial and other data used to
determine value, including balance sheets
(particularly the one nearest to the
valuation date) and statements of the net
earnings or operating results and dividends
paid for each of the 5 years immediately
before the valuation date.

Securities reported as of no value,
nominal value, or obsolete should be listed
last. Include the address of the company
and the state and date of the
incorporation. Attach copies of
correspondence or statements used to
determine the “no value.”

If the security was listed on more than
one stock exchange, use either the records
of the exchange where the security is
principally traded or the composite listing
of combined exchanges, if available, in a
publication of general circulation. In valuing
listed stocks and bonds, you should
carefully check accurate records to obtain
values for the applicable valuation date.

If you get quotations from brokers, or
evidence of the sale of securities from the
officers of the issuing companies, attach to
the schedule copies of the letters



furnishing these quotations or evidence of
sale.

See Rev. Rul. 69-489, 1969-2 C.B. 172,
for the special valuation rules for certain
marketable U.S. Treasury Bonds (issued
before March 4, 1971). These bonds,
commonly called “flower bonds,” may be
redeemed at par plus accrued interest in
payment of the tax at any Federal Reserve
bank, the office of the Treasurer of the
United States, or the Bureau of the Public
Debt, as explained in Rev. Proc. 69-18,
1969-2 C.B. 300.

Instructions for
Schedule D.—Insurance on
the Decedent’s Life

See the reverse side of Schedule D on
Form 706.

Instructions for Schedule
E.—Jointly Owned Property

See the reverse side of Schedule E on
Form 706.

Instructions for Schedule
F—Other Miscellaneous
Property

See the reverse side of Schedule F on
Form 706.

Instructions for
Schedule G.—Transfers
During Decedent’s Life

You must complete Schedule G and file it
with the return if the decedent made any
of the transfers described below in 1
through 5 or if you answered “Yes” on line
11 or 12a of Part 4, General Information.

Five types of transfers should be
reported on this schedule:

1. Certain gift taxes.—Section 2035(c).
Enter at item A of the Schedule the total
value of the gift taxes that were paid by
the decedent or the estate on gifts made
by the decedent or the decedent’s spouse
within 3 years before death.

The date of the gift, not the date of
payment of the gift tax, determines
whether a gift tax paid is included in the
gross estate under this rule. Therefore, you
should carefully examine the Forms 709
filed by the decedent and the decedent’s
spouse to determine what part of the total
gift taxes reported on them was
attributable to gifts made within 3 years
before death. For example, if the decedent
died on July 10, 1993, you should examine
gift tax returns for 1993, 1992, 1991, and
1990. However, the gift taxes on the 1990
returns that are attributable to gifts made
before July 10, 1990, are not included in
the gross estate.

Attach an explanation of how you
computed the includible gift taxes if you do
not include in the gross estate the entire
gift taxes shown on any Form 709 filed
within 3 years of death. Also attach copies

of any pertinent gift tax returns filed by the
decedent’s spouse within 3 years of death.

2. Other transfers within 3 years before
death.—Section 2035(a). These transfers
include only the following:

® Any transfer by the decedent with
respect to a life insurance policy within 3
years before death.

® Any transfer within 3 years before death
of a retained section 2036 life estate,
section 2037 reversionary interest, or
section 2038 power to revoke, etc., if the
property subject to the life estate, interest,
or power would have been included in the
gross estate had the decedent continued
to possess the life estate, interest, or
power until death.

These transfers are reported on
Schedule G regardless of whether a gift
tax return was required to be filed for them
when they were made. However, the
amount includible and the information
required to be shown for the transfers are
determined:

® For insurance on the life of the decedent
using the instructions to Schedule D.
(Attach Form(s) 712.)

® For insurance on the life of another using
the instructions to Schedule F. (Attach
Form(s) 712.)

® For sections 2036, 2037, and 2038
transfers, using paragraphs 3, 4, and 5 of
these instructions.

3. Transfers with retained life estate
(section 2036).—These are transfers in
which the decedent retained the income
from the transferred property or the right to
designate the person or persons who will
possess or enjoy the transferred property,
or the income from the transferred property
if the transfer was made:

(a) Between March 4, 1931, and June 6,
1932, inclusive, and the decedent alone
retained the right to so designate for life,
or for any period that did not in fact end
before the decedent’s death; or

(b) After June 6, 1932, and the decedent
retained the right to so designate, either
alone or with any person, for life, for any
period that must be ascertained by
reference to the decedent’s death, or for
any period that did not in fact end before
the decedent’s death.

Retained Voting Rights. Transfers with a
retained life estate also include transfers of
stock in a “controlled corporation” after
June 22, 1976, if the decedent retained or
acquired voting rights in the stock. If the
decedent retained direct or indirect voting
rights in a controlled corporation, the
decedent is considered to have retained
enjoyment of the transferred property. A
corporation is a “controlled corporation” if
the decedent owned (actually or
constructively) or had the right (either alone
or with any other person) to vote at least
20% of the total combined voting power of
all classes of stock. See section 2036(b). If
these voting rights ceased or were
relinquished within 3 years before the
decedent’s death, the corporate interests
are included in the gross estate as if the
decedent had actually retained the voting
rights until death.

4. Transfers taking effect at death
(section 2037).—These are transfers made
on or after September 8, 1916, that took
effect at the decedent’s death. A transfer
that takes effect at the decedent’s death is
one under which possession or enjoyment
can be obtained only by surviving the
decedent. A transfer is not treated as one
that takes effect at the decedent’s death
unless the decedent retained a
reversionary interest in the property that
immediately before the decedent’s death
had a value of more than 5% of the value
of the transferred property. If the transfer
was made before October 8, 1949, the
reversionary interest must have arisen by
the express terms of the instrument of
transfer.

5. Revocable transfers (section 2038).—
These are transfers in which the enjoyment
of the transferred property was subject at
decedent’s death to any change through
the exercise of a power to alter, amend,
revoke, or terminate, as follows:

® |f the transfer was made before 4:01
p.m., eastern standard time, June 2, 1924,
and the power was reserved at the time of
the transfer and was exercisable by the
decedent alone or with a person who had
no substantial adverse interest in the
transferred property.

o |f the transfer was made on or after 4:01
p.m., eastern standard time, June 2, 1924,
and before June 23, 1936, and the power
was reserved at the time of the transfer
and was exercisable by the decedent
alone or with any person (regardless of
whether that person had a substantial
adverse interest in the transferred
property), or

e |f the transfer was made after June 22,
1936, regardless of whether the power was
reserved at the time of the transfer or lat